Making her fit – next steps

Well, it took quite a time to get back to business in V7 terms due to the struggle with my lathe. But finally, Tuesday offered enough time for some after work fiddling in my garage. And what a joy it was…

Luckily, the V7´s stance is just right to put her wheels directly on the arms of my old lifting ramp. I just had to fix the front wheel and the main stand tight with some tie-down straps. Having the bike at eye level gave me the chance to start working. I installed a new mirror and cut off the old rubber grips on the handle bar first because they looked really awful. Fans of original Guzzi equipment might remark that only the balloon style grips are proper for a vintage V7 Special. But I don´t like them at all. They´re too “moddy” for me. Instead, I went for some other classics, namely closed Magura grips. Clean, simple, Italian. Job done.

The long dipstick always was a thorn in my side. So my plan was to replace it by an oil temperature gauge. I bought one some time ago. But it was longer than expected (blame the seller!) and didn´t fit into the crank case properly. Cutting it was an option of course but I destroyed the internal spring – what a bullshit idea! I remembered my beloved Scoro Le Mans that primarily came with a golden dipstick crown then. The part dozed in my part stock for some years now and I just had to cut it a little and rasp some min and max marks in it to put it into place. Looking good so far.

The next steps were easier. I drilled tiny holes into the handle bar to give it a better fixation – otherwise its prying effect makes it roll in the clamping when turning hard. More holes were necessary to put the electric cables into the handle bar soon. I don´t like the look of all the cables on the front. And giving a bike a cleaner look is always a plus in my eyes. Custom Harleys can tell…

Furthermore, turning lights are necessary to make the V7 roadworthy again after I disassembled the non-matching bull´s-eye lights. I found some turning lights at Moto Renzo and went for these repros because original ones seem to have left mother earth – I couldn´t find any! But it appears that the repros are not that bad! The form is similar, the glass color is matching and the quality is comparable to the original ones. They just differ in details: No “CEV” logo on the chrome and different glass prints on the orange. Who cares about the “Zhijanyong” cable branding then…?

The tricky bit was to get the lights into correct position without disturbing the side case arrangement – an option that I always want to use in case of a proper moto-holiday that might come. So I did some testing with the left side case mounted to find the best position. All the electrics, some clutch issues and the construction of new stainless steel turning light arms will be carried out by mechanic Henry of my chaps from Urban Motor. I´m a bungler in welding and electrics so it´s up to the pros to fix these bits.

By then, it was 10:30 pm – a little more time to get into details. I put the old lady a little higher on the lifting ramp to get access to the gearbox control. It had a lot of wobble – which made changing gear a nightmare. So it was no surprise that the arm of the operating axle had totally worn out. The bolt´s hole was egg-shaped. I therefore drilled the holes one size bigger and cut some threads. The bigger bolt is now fixing all very nicely. The wobble has gone completely and the gear pedal is as stiff as it can be on 4-speed Guzzi.

So, finally, it was today when I drove the lady from my back province garage to home town Berlin. Urban Motor gave her a warm welcome and I discussed all details with Henry who looks forward to working on the bike. I do so, too! My Guzzi seemed to feel quite comfy between all the old other Guzzis, Triumphs, Beemer and stuff. We´ll see the outcome soon…

Leave a Reply

